In Wisconsin, there are more American Indian children in foster care than there are licensed American Indian foster parents.

With your help, the Wisconsin Department of Children and Families is working to increase the number of American Indian foster families to strengthen these community and cultural connections for American Indian children who are experiencing out-of-home placement in Milwaukee County and the balance of the State.

Indian Child Welfare Contacts

If you are an American Indian and would like to learn more about foster care or become a licensed foster home, please contact:

Bad River Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Gina Secord
arcmgr@badriver-nsn.gov

Melissa Burns
Bricw3@badriver-nsn.gov

P.O. Box 55
Odanah, WI 54861
Phone: (715) 682-7135 x1434
Fax: 715-682-7800

Forest County Potawatomi

Deanna Collins
5415 Everybody’s Road
Crandon, WI 54520
Phone: (715) 478-4957
Fax: (715) 478-7442
Deanna.collins@fcpotawatomi-nsn.gov

Ho-Chunk Nation

Jackie Moen-Kadlec
Phone: (715) 284-7749
Toll-Free: (855) 659-8820
ICW@ho-chunk.com

Lac Courte Orielles Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Chally Topping-Thompson
13394 W. Trepania Road
Hayward, WI 54843-2186
Phone: (715) 634-8934
Fax: (715) 634-2981
chally.thompson@lco-nsn.gov

Lac du Flambeau Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Kristin Allen
418 Little Pines Road
Lac du Flambeau, WI 54538
Phone: (715) 588-4275
Fax: (715) 588-3855
kallen@ldftribe.com

Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin

Carol Corn, Director
W2908 Tribal Office Loop Road
P.O. Box 520
Keshena, WI 54135-0520
Phone: (715) 799-5161
Fax: (715) 799-6061
ccorn@mitw.org

Oneida Nation

Lea E. Padron
P.O. Box 365
Oneida, WI 54155
Phone: (920) 490-3822
Fax: (920) 490-3820
lpadron1@oneidanation.org

Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Angie Emrich
88385 Pike Road, Hwy 13
Bayfield, WI 54814
Phone: (715) 779-3785
Fax: (715) 779-3782
angie.emrich@redcliff-nsn.gov

Sokaogon Chippewa Community of Wisconsin

Nicholas Van Zile
3051 Sand Lake Road
Crandon, WI 54520
Phone: (715) 478-6437
Fax: (715) 478-0692
nick.vanzile@scc-nsn.gov

St. Croix Chippewa of Wisconsin

Melissa Fowler
Child Placement and Parent Education Coordinator

4404 State Road 70
Webster, WI 54893

Phone: (715) 349-2195 x5127
melissaf@stcroixtribalcenter.com

 

Elizabeth Lowe
Indian Child Welfare Director
Phone: (715) 349-2671 Fax: (715) 349-8665
elizabethl@stcroixtribalcenter.com

Stockbridge-Munsee Community of Wisconsin

Teresa Juga
W12802 County Hwy A
Bowler, WI 54416
Phone: (715) 793-4580
Fax: (715) 793-1312
Teresa.juga@mohican-nsn.gov

If you are American Indian and would like to learn more about fostering children in Milwaukee County please contact one or both of the agencies listed below:

In Milwaukee County

Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin
Community Services

Phone: 414-KID HERO (414-543-4376)
http://www.chw.org/fostercare

SaintA

Phone: 855-GROW-HOPE
Email: growhope@sainta.org
http://www.growhope.net/

Additional Contacts

DSP Tribal Affairs Specialist
(920) 785-7839
dcfwicwa@wisconsin.gov

DCF Tribal Liaison
(608) 422-7076
dcfwicwa@wisconsin.gov

U.S. Department of the Interior, Indian Affairs
https://www.bia.gov/index.htm

National Congress of American Indians
http://www.ncai.org/

If your tribe is not listed above, please contact the Foster Care and Adoption Resource Center at 1-800-947-8074 or info@wifostercareandadoption.org.